George Washington Carver Public Service Hall of Fame Award

The George Washington Carver Public Service Hall of Fame Award is given annually to individuals affiliated or who have worked with 1890 Land Grant institutions over a career and who exemplify the public service philosophy and leadership qualities of Dr. Carver. Farm Foundation sponsors these annual awards to recognize distinguished service and to inspire others to follow the examples of Carver and those recipients in their career choices.

Farm Foundation has sponsored the award since its inception in 1984. The awards are presented at the Annual Meeting of the Professional Agricultural Workers.

The recipients of the George Washington Carver Public Service Hall of Fame Award are:

2001 Leodrey Williams, Southern University and A&M College

Horace Smith, USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service

2000  Fred Broughton, South Carolina State University

Ralph Paige, Federation of Southern Cooperatives

1999 Margaret E. Johnson, South Carolina State University

John I. Just-Buddy, USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service

1998 Jimmie Lee Edwards, University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Pearlie Reed, USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service

1997 Thomas T. Williams, Southern University and A&M College/Tuskegee University

Ronald C. Wimberley, North Carolina State University

1996 Alfred N. Poindexter, Prairie View A&M University

Evelyn M. White, USDA/Human Resource Management

1995 James L. Dawson, Alabama A&M University

McKinley Mayes, USDA/Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service

1994 William Hytche, University of Maryland-ES

Jim Hildreth/Walter Armbruster, Farm Foundation

1993 Walter Washington, Alcorn State University

James E. Tatum, USDA/Soil Conservation Service

1992 Burleigh Webb, North Carolina State A&T University
1991 Bennie D. Mayberry, Tuskegee University
1990 Owen Porter, University or Arkansas-Pine Bluff
1989 Richard D. Morrison, Alabama A&M University
1988 William Bailey Hill, Tuskegee University
1987 George Edward Robinson, Jr., Southern University and A&M College
1986 Sidney Evans, North Carolina A&T State University
1985 Robert Lee Hurst, South Carolina State College
1984 S.J. Parker, University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Share This Project

Press Inquiries?