Farm Foundation Forums

Current Projects

Archived Projects


George Washington Carver Public Service Hall of Fame Award



News from Farm Foundation:

George Washington Carver Public Service Hall of Fame Award

October 4, 2001 (Chicago) The George Washington Carver Public Service Hall of Fame Award is given annually to individuals affiliated or who have worked with 1890 land grant institutions over a career and who exemplify the public service philosophy and leadership qualities of Dr. Carver. Farm Foundation sponsors these annual awards to recognize distinguished service and to inspire others to follow the examples of Carver and those recipients in their career choices.

Farm has sponsored the award since its inception in 1984. The awards are presented at the Annual Meeting of the Professional Agricultural Workers.

The recipients of the George Washington Carver Public Service Hall of Fame Award are:


Leodrey Williams, Southern University and A&M College

Horace Smith, USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service


 Fred Broughton, South Carolina State University

 Ralph Paige, Federation of Southern Cooperatives


Margaret E. Johnson, South Carolina State University

John I. Just-Buddy, USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service


Jimmie Lee Edwards, University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Pearlie Reed, USDA/Natural Resources Conservation Service


Thomas T. Williams, Southern University and A&M College/Tuskegee University

Ronald C. Wimberley, North Carolina State University


Alfred N. Poindexter, Prairie View A&M University

Evelyn M. White, USDA/Human Resource Management


James L. Dawson, Alabama A&M University

McKinley Mayes, USDA/Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service


William Hytche, University of Maryland-ES

Jim Hildreth/Walter Armbruster, Farm Foundation


Walter Washington, Alcorn State University

James E. Tatum, USDA/Soil Conservation Service

1992 Burleigh Webb, North Carolina State A&T University
1991 Bennie D. Mayberry, Tuskegee University
1990 Owen Porter, University or Arkansas-Pine Bluff
1989 Richard D. Morrison, Alabama A&M University
1988 William Bailey Hill, Tuskegee University
1987 George Edward Robinson, Jr., Southern University and A&M College
1986 Sidney Evans, North Carolina A&T State University
1985 Robert Lee Hurst, South Carolina State College
1984 S.J. Parker, University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff








Round Table
  © 2012 Farm Foundation. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy Policy
Site Design: Vitek Design | Programming/Maintenance: Quixazure