Farm Foundation Awards

Farm Foundation Innovator of the Year Award

Recognizing a person, organization, or company for playing an integral part towards solving some of the most important challenges faced today in the agriculture and food industries.

The Farm Foundation Innovator of the Year Award 2024 Recipient

Dr. Stephen Adejoro, Director, Livestock Industry Foundation for Africa


Dr Adejorro Picture

Dr. Stephen Adejoro is the founder and president of the Livestock Industry Foundation for Africa. He is an esteemed professional in agri-business, a practitioner, and consultant in animal food security.

After completing his studies in veterinary medicine at the University of Ibadan, Nigeria, Adejoro began his career at the Virus Research Laboratory at the University College Hospital in Ibadan, Nigeria. He emerged as the pioneer veterinary practitioner in the Old Oyo State, Nigeria, and became a member of the Poultry Association of Nigeria (PAN). Adejoro assumed numerous leadership roles within the agri-food industry, including as contract head of research and market development at Zartech Ltd, an integrated value chain broiler producer in Nigeria.

As a dedicated researcher, he utilized his backyard cattle fattening program as a valuable resource, leading to the publication of several books, including “Livestock Mixed Portfolio: A Cooperative Farming for Youth Empowerment” (published by Lambert Academic, Germany).

Adejoro has established himself as an international independent consultant, serving as a technical advisor and consultant to OLMIX of France Animal Health products in Nigeria and West Africa. Notably, he co-facilitated and organized the ADEPTA delegate business and agricultural B2B meeting, focusing on value chain development in Nigeria in October 2014. His international influence extends to his role as a council member of GLG United States of America.

Adejoro’s commitment to knowledge sharing inspired the establishment of an NGO named the Livestock Industry Foundation for Africa (LIFA). This organization serves as a legal vehicle for the dissemination of knowledge and information acquired over years of practice in livestock livelihood and climate change mitigations, as a charitable effort to improve the livelihoods and entrepreneurship of livestock farmers in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Nominated by: Afeez Lawal, LIFA

The focus of this award is to recognize those change makers that are an integral part to solving some of the most influential challenges we face today in the agriculture and food industries. 

Innovator of the Year Award Criteria
  • The innovation’s benefits are clearly measurable by positive impacts within the food and agriculture sector
  • Innovator identifies the overall value proposition of the innovative idea or project
  • The innovation must impact more than one level of the supply chain from farmers to consumers
  • Exhibits impact of strengthening the link between farmers and consumers
  • Embodies the mission and vision of Farm Foundation through their work and contributions
Innovator of the Year Award Nomination Materials

Please provide the following for the Innovator of the Year award nomination packet:

  • Contributions Summary: A bullet point summary of the significant contributions this individual, company, or organization has made to food and agriculture. You can also share a CV/Resume if nominating an individual.
  • Supporting Letter: Provide at least one letter of support from a colleague who can share insight on the impact this nominee has made.
  • Slide Deck Intro and/or Links to Video/Media Supporting Materials: Please share an intro slide deck and/or links to video or other media materials that showcase the innovative strategies and focus of the nominee.

Please note: Finalists will be asked to share a short two-minute video that shares their innovative approach. This video will be shown at the Farm Foundation Round Table Chairman’s Dinner in Denver, Colorado, on June 20, 2024.

Nominations materials should be submitted at the nomination portal no later than October 20, 2023.

Who Can I Contact With Questions?

Past Recipients

2023: Philip “PJ” Haynie III, Owner/CEOHaynie Farms/Arkansas River Rice